Image of a Mockingjay Another one

The Hunger Games

"And May The Odds Be Ever In Your Favor"

Book Info:

Hunger Games Book Cover

Plot Summary:

The Hunger Games is a dystopian novel that revolves around a 16-year old girl named Katniss Everdeen. The story takes place in the future, where North American has become a completely new country, Panem. Panem consists of 12 districts and the Capitol. As punishment for the failed rebellion 74 years ago by District 13, every district is forced to pay tributes to the Capitol’s sick and twisting Hunger Games. Call it their modern-day gladiators. Two tributes are chosen every year, boy and girl, from the ages of 12 to 18. The 24 children are placed in an arena and are forced to fight till the death; every man for themselves, and the last one standing is named victor of the Hunger Games. But when Katniss's younger sister, Prim, is selected as the 74th tribute, Katniss had nothing to do but volunteer to take her place. Peeta Mellark is also chosen and as the story moves forward, Peeta starts revealing his feelings towards Katniss. Everyone is just a pawn in the Capitol's games, and defying the capitol isn't an option. So, will Katniss have the courage to take down Peeta and return to her mother and sister, or vice versa? Either way, we all see our true monsters when we’re tested to our survival.

Suzanne Collins

About the Author:

Suzanne Collins is the youngest of four children, born on August 10, 1962, in Hartford Connecticut. As a daughter of an Air Force officers, her family moved quite a lot during her childhood. After graduating from high school, Suzanne enrolled at Indiana University and graduated as a double major in theater and telecommunications. She also earned her master's in dramatic writing from New York University. After finishing graduate school, she began writing for several children’s television programs including those on the Nickelodeon channel. She then started her book writing career. In 2003, she wrote the first book of The Underland Chronicles and The Hunger Games series in 2008. The book includes two sequels, Catching Fire and Mockingjay, published 2009 and 2010. The series turned to be an epic success, selling more than 50 million printed and electronic copies. It was so good, the film version for the first book was released in 2012, breaking a plethora of box office records and making almost $700 million at the worldwide box office.

A picture of fire

Back to Top